Overview : After winning the inaugural edition of the IPL under Shane Warne, they have not lifted the trophy again and have looked far from impressive. However, a change in venue can bring about a change in fortunes.

Captain : Steve Smith

Image courtesy @Rajasthanroyals

Support Staff : Andrew McDonald (head coach), Amol Muzumdar (batting coach), Sairaj Bahutule (spin bowling coach), Rob Cassell (fast bowling coach) , Dishank Yagnik (fielding coach).

Squad : –

Strengths : RR’s death bowling this season will be taken care be all T20 specialists including Curran, Archer, Tye and Unadkat. Tye had won the purple cap in 2018 for the most number of wickets and Curran and Archer are already a part of their country’s first choice T20 team whereas Unadkat who’s a left-armer offers variety to the attack and has been with the team since a few years now.

Weaknesses : Ben Stokes’ absence in the first half of the tournament will be a huge blow to RR since he is an entire package when he plays for any team. Their selection will face issues because he provides balance to the side with him being the fifth bowler and a batsman who can strengthen the middle order to finish off games along with his sharp fielding. So Rajasthan will have to compromise on each and every aspect of the game. Lack of bench strength, as well, is an issue for RR.

Player to watch out for : –

Yashasvi Jaiswal : This 18-year old opening batsman has been dominating right from school level cricket in Mumbai. He scored 400 runs @133.3 in just 6 matches during the under-19 World cup to lead the run charts and win the player of the tournament.

Team combination and probable XI : –

Buttler opening the innings means that your best player gets to face the maximum number of balls. At number 5, they can opt for any young batsman. Since Uthappa and Jaiswal are top order players they wouldn’t fit in the middle order and Miller will play when Stokes is unavailable. Rahul Tewatia at seven can play some big shots and bowl you a complete quota of 4 overs.

1. Jos Buttler (wk) 2. Sanju Samson 3. Steve Smith (c) 4. Stokes / David Miller 5. Shashank Singh 6. Riyan Parag 7. Rahul Tewatia 8. Shreyas Gopal 9. Jofra Archer 10. Rajpoot 11. Unadkat.

Sanju Samson featuring in RR’s new jersey for IPL 2020. Courtesy @rajasthanroyals.

Predicted finish : Half of their chances will drop as soon as Stokes is not a part of the XI. They finished at 7th position in last year’s edition. A similar finish can be predicted.

Thanks for reading this blog. The next one will be posted soon!